BIOGRAPHY

William J. Drake — University of Zurich

William J. Drake is an International Fellow and Lecturer in the Institute of Mass Communication and Media Research at the University of Zurich.

He is also a member of the Nominating Committee of the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN); a member of the inaugural Coordination Committee of the NETmundial Initiative; a faculty member of the European and South schools on Internet governance; and an Affiliated Researcher at the Institute for Tele-Information, Columbia University.

Previous activities have included serving as a three-term Chair of the NonCommercial Users Constituency, seven-term member of the Board of Directors of the European At Large Organization, and two-term member of the Council of the Generic Names Supporting Organization, in ICANN; a member of the Multistakeholder Advisory Group of the Internet Governance Forum; an expert adviser to the high-level Panel on Global Internet Cooperation and Governance Mechanisms; a member of the UN Working Group on Internet Governance; a member of the Group of High-Level Advisors of UN Global Alliance for ICT and Development; a Vice-Chair and founding Steering Committee member of the Global Internet Governance Academic Network; and an adviser to the World Economic Forum Task Force on the Global Digital Divide.

Previous work experience has included: co-editor of the MIT Press book series, The Information Revolution and Global Politics; Senior Associate at the Centre for International Governance of the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies; President of Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility; Senior Associate and Director of the Project on the Information Revolution and World Politics at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace; founding Associate Director of the Communication, Culture and Technology Program, Georgetown University; Assistant Professor of Communication at the University of California, San Diego; and adjunct professor at the School of Advanced International Studies and the Georgetown School of Business. He holds a PhD in Political Science from Columbia University.

www.williamdrake.org

To speakers list

БИОГРАФИЯ

Уильям Дрейк — Университет Цюриха

Уильям Дрейк является международным сотрудником и лектором Института массовых коммуникаций и медиа-исследований Университета Цюриха.

Является членом Комитета по назначениям Корпорации по управлению доменными именами и IP-адресами (ICANN), членом инаугурационного Координационного совета Инициативы NETmundial, преподавателем Европейской и Южной школ по вопросам управления Интернетом, аффилированным научным сотрудником Института телеинформации Колумбийского университета.

Его деятельность в прошлом включает три срока на посту председателя Объединения некоммерческих пользователей (NonCommercial Users Constituency), членство в Совете директоров Европейской региональной организации At Large (European Regional At Large Organization, EURALO) на протяжении семи сроков, членство в Совете Организации поддержки родовых имен ICANN на протяжении двух сроков, членство в Консультативной группе широкого состава Форума ООН по управлению интернетом, работу консультантом-экспертом Группы высокого уровня по механизмам глобального интернет-сотрудничества и управлению Интернетом, членство в Рабочей группе ООН по управлению Интернетом, членство в Группе советников высокого уровня Глобального альянса ООН по информационно- коммуникационным технологиям и развитию, а также деятельность в качестве заместителя председателя и члена-учредителя Руководящего комитета Глобальной академической сети по управлению интернетом (Global Internet Governance Academic Network) и советника Целевой группы по глобальному «цифровому разрыву» Всемирного экономического форума.

Уильям Дрейк работал в качестве соредактора серии книг «Информационная революция и глобальная политика» (The Information Revolution and Global Politics), выпущенных издательством Массачусетского технологического института. Он также являлся старшим научным сотрудником Центра международного управления Женевского института международных отношений и развития, президентом организации «Компьютерные профессионалы за социальную ответственность» (Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility), старшим научным сотрудником и руководителем проекта «Информационная революция и мировая политика» Фонда Карнеги за международный мир, соучредителем и помощником директора Программы по связям, культуре и технологиям Джорджтаунского университета, доцентом по коммуникациям Калифорнийского университета в Сан- Диего, и адъюнкт-профессором Школы передовых международных исследований и Школы бизнеса Джорджтаунского университета.

Имеет степень доктора политологии Колумбийского университета.
Вебсайт: www.williamdrake.org

К списку докладчиков